The Spoon

Finland is a land of lakes and forests, rolling on for kilometre after kikometre after kilometre. Today we took the bikes on the train and cycled out to Aulanko Forest Park. Along wiyh Snowdonia in North Wales this is my most favourite spot in the entire world. 
This shot was made from the top of the observation tower and looking down at the viewing point down below. That spit of land is known locally as the spoon. I think the reason is fairly obvious.
Hard to believe that just a few weeks ago this entire vista was covered in ice and snow. You could easily have walked on the lake and ponds here. I know because I did.
I decided to present this in portrait format rather than landscape, just so that you could see more of the depth of the forest landscape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.