Paint Mines in Calhan, CO

"The Paint Mines are named for their colorful clays that were collected by American Indians to make paint. Brightly colored bands, caused by oxidized iron compounds, are found in varying amounts throughout the many different layers of clay. When the outcrops erode, a hard capstone allows columns of clay to be preserved beneath them, creating fantastic spires called hoodoos."
~ From the brochure I received at 7 am this morning.
 I then spent 4 hours taking pictures while walking the four mile trail through these beauties. It was a good day!

But it is always a good day when I sign on to Blipfoto. I guess that is why I have been doing it for 7 years now!
Thank you to all who have made this such a special forum - you know who you are :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.