Swanning about

We went for an evening stroll around Petersfield Heath and found that the cygnets - seven of them - have hatched. Unfortunately, I couldn't get near them before the light faded so we went back this morning for another look and this time they were sleeping in their nest (presumably resting after an early start). Four laps and some coffee and cake at the café later I finally managed to catch them on their way back to the nest. I just about got them all in but they were soon out of view so I'll have to try another day to get some close-ups of them doing cute stuff before they get too big. Anyway, on the way round we saw this pair getting amorous.

Oh, and there are plenty of signs around asking people not to feed bread to the waterfowl and yet still people do it. One of the reasons given on the signs is that it encourages rats and, I have to say, I've never seen as many rats there as I did last night and today. When I took the picture of the cygnets there was an elderly couple sitting beside the lake on camping chairs and when I walked past them I counted six juvenile rats playing happily beneath the trees next to them. I didn't have the heart to spoil the couple's Sunday lunchtime so I kept quiet about it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.