snapkin

By snapkin

The future ...

This boy, which represents the future, is part of The Jubilee Statue that sits at the base of the Spinnaker Tower in Portsmouth Harbour, He is leaning on a depiction of the prow of the Royal Yacht Britannia and sitting on a miniature of the Round Tower which commenced being built in wood, in 1418  to guard the entrance to the harbour.

I took the photo because it resonates with me and it is how I feel. 
I'm 71 years old and have just completed writing my sixth novel, I'm a media services photographer for Dorset & Wiltshire Fire & Rescue Service, I have a wonderful family and friends whom I love dearly and the future still holds joy and wonderment for me. I awake every day looking forward to what new adventure will start and I don't care if it's raining or overcast or cold. 

All too soon this time will pass and I'll rejoin those members of my family and friends who've already left me, but until then, I'll sit like this boy, staring out to sea, wondering and planning what new and exciting things I could be doing next week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.