Poppyfield

I’ve been trying to find a local poppy field this year without a great deal of success. I think more people are tending and encouraging clumps of poppies and big daisies, and they look terrific, but I’ve not found a natural poppy field.

A few years ago we had traffic stopping displays where road works had disturbed the soil. This year, those areas are carefully productive in more conventional crops.

Last night, on the Midlands news, they were showing photos taken in Kingswinford. Glorious poppy fields and some outstanding local photographers. I thought about heading over and trying to find it.....

This morning, I had my annual check-up with my hip surgeon. Imagine my delight as I drove along the drive, to see flourishing natural poppies. O.K. It wasn’t a field full, but the poppies were gorgeous.

And my X-ray was great too......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.