WHAT A DAY!!!!!!!

Started my walk to feed the swans at 6.30am, and was saddened to see only one cygnet, but I could hear cheeping. After about five minutes of trying to find out where the noise was coming from, I saw the other cygnet stuck at the far side of the canal, it was calling and flapping, but could not get free. I phoned the SSPCA, but not open, phoned the Police who connected me to swan rescue - not open. I was so upset I had to walk on as there was nothing I could do, however I rang the SSPCA again at seven and they were open. I gave them all the details, and they said they would come out. On my way back I met someone who said there was only one cygnet yesterday, so this poor little baby had bee stuck there all that time.
Luckily I then met a Hero, called David (he was the man to fixed their nest three years ago when it fell into the canal, and they raised the magnificent seven). He left to try and get a canoe, I came home and was to ring him in an hour. Well the SSPCA arrived, but our hero, David climbed through a fence and waded into the canal with sissors and cut the cygnet free. It was caught with fishing line and had a hook through its leg. They all took it to the local vet who got the hook out gave it antibiotics, and then took it back to the canal. I then decided to walk to the care home, so I could see if the swans were alright, and to my dismay found only one cygnet, so phoned the vet and they said it would not join the parents, so they sent it to Hesslehead Rescue centre. They probably did not know how to do a release, as I am sure given time it would have been fine with it's family.
All I can say is "What A Day". I have now walked ten miles, cut a hedge, had my son for lunch and walked to the care home.
Early bed tonight as I am really tired now.
The extra is the little family this morning, the little one that is caught is the one on the right.
I would just like to thank you all for taking the trouble of reading my journal and leaving lovely comments, stars and hearts.
Meant to say the main blip is the cygnet that is with the parents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.