Ashaw1

By Ameliashaw1

A little bit of magic - Melbourne cup

So today it was Melbourne cup (race just like our Gold cup) all the lady's around manly were dressed up and looked amazing and the men nice and smart! They would go to a bar/ restaurant to have a set meal and then watch the big race at 3:05/3:10.

Going a couple of days back I had a look at the horses names that would be racing outside the bookies next to my gym, I never bother with odds as I have no idea what it means so I go with names that jump out to me. One horse called 'lights of heaven' jumped out at me and made me think of my grandpa in heaven.

Come today I hadn't put any bets on and had kind of forgot about this horse. Paul and I went to a bar and had a set meal and along came the lady sweep staking where she had a $5 jar and a $10 so Paul and I had 1 $5 and 1 $10 each and I go for the $10 one first and instead of picking a Name you pop your hand in the jar and you have whatever name you get out and I couldn't believe it I had 'lights of heaven' my eyes nearly filled up.

The race starts and both my horses were running to 1st and 2nd place until the very last minute where they got taken over by other horses unfortunately. But I thought how weird that I got the horse that reminded me of him, I loved it!

Made me think he's still around me. R.I.P grandpa, think and talk about you everyday. Love you always

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.