Curiouser and Curiouser

A lovely couple of days in London, meeting and eating with friends, and attending the excellent final rehearsal of “La Boheme” in Covent Garden.

One of my friends had never been to the British Museum. I need no persuasion to return and we spent ages looking at and discussing the politics of the Elgin Marbles. After taking n the Rosetta Stone, I persuaded him to come up and see the Lewis Chessmen.

As we strolled out, he spotted the clocks section......well, that was it ! Pure magic.

My blipped item isn’t really a clock, but the mechanism is fascinating. It is an automaton in the shape of a galleon.

It’s dated 1585 and it was a centrepiece for a banquet. Lots of moving parts, things that fired, oddness itself.

I’ve included the label in the photo so you can zoom in for more information......

The British Museum is such a magical treasure chest.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.