Beewriter

By Beewriter

Sickle Cell Awareness Day

Today is World Sickle Cell Awareness Day and at sunset (21:42 precisely) Manchester Town Hall was lit up red in support. Jo from marketing had put on our website that there was going to be a giant selfie being taken outside the Town Hall and so I said I would go along in support. Quite a few people turned up, all wearing red. Most were from the Sickle Cell Society, there was Jo, Nicky and me from the Blood Service and two members from The B Positive Choir who were finalists on Britain's Got Talent. Dawn and Ronald were lovely and were thrilled with all the publicity for sickle cell that was gleaned from the choir.

DJ Respect had been publicising the event all day on her radio station...I can't remember which one though...she had brought some music along, but as we had no access to a power supply we couldn't play it. Her man was interviewing people for You Tube and for on the Radio so I will have to try and find that at some point. 

I took lots of photos and Jo is going to hopefully get them all over social media and hopefully we can encourage more people to donate and especially those from different ethnicities. We do need more black donors. There is so much more to blood groups then the ABO system and when matching blood types it is far better to try and use the same ethnicity. Also there is an RO trait in some people's blood and this is needed to help those suffering from incredibly painful sickle cell. We all did our bit tonight.

I am shattered now as I went for a swim this morning with Julie from work. I have a few free passes for the Marriott and so she came along for a swim and then we sat outside at The Old Hall for a spot of lunch...it was all very civilised. Anyway, tomorrow is now today and I have to be up in a few hours for work........ 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.