Still Here!

By Yorkhull

My latest stick

It became clear a couple of years ago after a couple of falls that investing in a stick would be good. I bought a cheap one in the Dales when I was up there last year and it got me used to using one. I’ve been trying to get a better stick for a while, partly so I have spares but also wanted something with a bit more about it. I got a second stick in Goathland a few weeks back but have not really warmed to it. It’s functional, does the job but there was something lacking.

At the weekend celebrating Father’s Day in a pub they had some hand carved wooden ones. Most were too tall, more walkers sticks but there were a couple nearly the right size. The one I choose, in the pic, is mainly hazel wood I think though not sure what wood the handle is made off. They took the sticker off before I had memorised this and have now forgot. It feels good so I shall be testing it this weekend.

Today after my son had sawn a piece off I got a rubber suction for the bottom which gives it better purchase.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.