THE HIGHLANDS

Today I took Precious to the garage to see if they could reconnect G's mobile phone - no they couldn't and it looks as though the phone is old hat and he'll have to get a new one. But while I waited they washed the car. Thank you. But did they ask if I wanted to sit there while they washed the car? No. I must have looked like a bored housewife with nothing better to do, and all I wanted was to get off to Salts Mill and make the most of my day.

Salts Mill was as good as always and I discovered a textile section in the basement which I did not know was there. I restrained myself in the book department. Well, a bit.

I was about to go up the stairs to the David Hockney exhibition when I had to take refuge against the onslaught of a tribe of small school children hurtling up the stairs. The teacher was half-heartedly telling them to slow down and that "their names were going in the book" but they took no notice whatsoever. Names going in the book obviously held no fear, now a slap round the legs ......

Anyway, I decided against a visit to Mr Hockney's paintings, perhaps I'll return on a quieter day, and once the wave of future art experts had passed I peeled myself off the wall and climbed back down the stairs.

My blip was taken in retreat. It wasn't until I put the photo on the computer that I spotted the disintegrating brickwork, so much like the Highlands of Scotland. On my next visit I shall pay it more attention .... and zoom in!

Now home, I have discovered that my camera battery charger has stopped working, and the camera GPS is stuck on Manningham Lane, Bradford. Now that will have to be sorted out. Precious's garage is on Manningham Lane but the area is notorious for something far less respectable. That may only be at night, but I certainly don't want all my photos labelled as such!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.