Still hunting for butterflies

When you want butterflies there are few places more ideal than Calke Abbey.

I saw quite a few Meadow Browns in the long grass up to the gardens. They were very difficult to capture but I was pleased when one posed (extra)

One solitary Small Tortoiseshell on the wildflower Meadow but he was having none of it and even my best shot was blurry. No whites threatening the veg ! None of last year’s blues !

But it was lovely. A gentle wander in the sparkling sunshine. Friendly visitors, helpful staff, informative gardeners....I make the most of my National Trust Membership.

I got back to the car, timed to listen to the Brazil first half as I drove home, and as I left the car park, one other mystery was solved. There had been no sign of the deer anywhere the gardens.

They were lying together, just by the fence and I couldn’t resist this gentle face for today’s blip.

Enjoy your weekend, blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.