ramblingrose

By ramblingrose

TUNNELS BEACHES. ILFRACOMBE. DEVON

Hi there everyone. Today we went to Tunnels Beaches. I really loved it here. There is more information on this here.  http://www.tunnelsbeaches.co.uk/ I really suggest that you look this up, as there is some wonderful history of this wonderful place.
I could have quite happily stayed here all day.
As bathing and the ‘art of swimming’ became increasingly popular in Victorian times, local entrepreneurs employed Welsh miners to hand carve six tunnels through the Ilfracombe hillside, to enable access to a beautifully rugged coastline (four tunnels are still open to the public). Ilfracombe grew from a tiny fishing village to a bustling seaside resort. It could be said that the tunnels are the main reason Ilfracombe exists!
The coastline and landscape remains virtually unchanged from its Victorian hey day and Tunnels Beaches is still today Ilfracombe’s most popular tourist attraction and its main blue flag beach.
Tunnels Beaches lies within a designated ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, conservation area and voluntary marine conservation area.
I have to say, that this was my favourite place!! The rock formations were amazing! I kept imagining it in the Victorian days. The men & women going through these tunnels to swim etc. 
Thank you for following me. Take care.
Love Theresa x
PS; I have also uploaded yesterday's entry here, if you are interested. 
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2456839209973976084

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.