Friday Again

Once in a while in Rotterdam, you'll come across a mural or a bas-relief on a wall, put there to break the monotony of the bricks.  Some of them are pretty, some were made to make you think, some don't have any effect at all.  I classify this as belong to the third category -- neither pretty nor ugly, not much depth, but it does what it's supposed to do, which is make one smile for a short bit.

Went to work because again I had an appointment with a student.  I wasn't planning to come today but glad I did because I was able to sort out some things again and ask for some info from colleagues.  My calculations tell me that about 70% of my work is done.  I really need to continue concentrating so that I don't forget anything.  There is one positive thing to being the first to go on holiday -- I'm very motivated to hurry up and finish my work and do my best not to burden the colleagues with any leftover tasks.

At home, AW has finished dismantling the old backyard fence and preparing the area for the new fence which will be installed tomorrow by a garden crew.  He used the better part of two whole weeks, doing a bit at a time, first removing the wild hedges and shrubs just outside the fence (actually municipality property) and then taking the old fence apart, plank by plank, screw by screw.  We've trusted that no burglar will try his luck entering the backyard to steal our bikes.  The sensor lamps will be installed soon after the new fence as we'll then have a better idea where to put them once the boundaries are drawn again.

I don't think the weekend will be that hectic, but it certainly won't be a lazy one.  There's enough to do.

THANK YOU for all the stars yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.