Lost In Translation

The hat wasn't supposed to turn out like this, it should be floppier. It looks awful.

I realised early on that things weren't quite right; I checked the instructions thoroughly and I was doing everything right but I had to increase stitches then add rows to make it big enough to get onto my head.

Eventually I double-checked the conversion given in the pattern with reference books and - guess what? The instructions are given using American stitch nomenclature but the translation to equivalent British was given wrongly - so I was using too small a stitch all along.

But all is not lost. I showed S this evening and it looks really nice on her! Just got to learn how to make the decoration then I'll start again - but using the right stitch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.