Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Chalk and children

Just down the road is an estate which includes small blocks of flats, terraced cottages and plenty of wide open grassy areas. The grassy areas are criss-crossed with paved paths and most surprisingly, there is not a single muddy “pathway of desire”. I was amused to see that children had been out adding chalk-marks to the cast concrete paving slabs;
A short pathway leading from a terrace of cottages to the main path had had each slab numbered from 1 to 12
Close to the tarmac road at the edge of the estate was an incomplete series of symbols for the signs of the Zodiac.
But best of all was this series of 23 slabs which had D E H Y D R O E P I A N D R O S T E R O N E Hormone present In Adren. Gland (the final five words being squashed together on a single slab).

I don't remember ever coming across this one when I was studying Biology at 'A' level!
Ah! But I do remember learning to spell ANTIDISESTABLISHMENTARIANISM even though I never studied History, not even at 'O' level. 
And I do remember my nephew and niece learning to say BOVINE SPONGIFORM ENCEPHALOPATHY when they were so little it was hilarious. 

So I conclude that this has nothing whatsoever to do with school studies but has far more to do with children learning big words with which to impress their peers.

Perhaps later I shall buy some chalk and write “Have you examined the patient E L E C T R O E N C E P H A L O G R A P H I C A L L Y ?” across 27+ slabs while they are all tucked up in their little beds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.