NextSteps

By LynnH

Training Moss

I have started working with Moss to gain his confidence with other dogs. (see 25th Oct). He either cowers or lunges when he sees dogs in the street. If left, it will develope and escalate.

I am taking great care not to let any unknown dogs near him at the moment, though its not easy when people don't understand why I need to do this. I have to be in control of the situation and know the other dog very well as I must be sure it will not bark or lunge at him.

So today it was back to basics with his whistle. I am re enforcing his sit to whistle and building up the distractions - He was sat with sheep and pheasants in the distance for the photo and his lead dangling, for me to grab it if I needed to! Excellent control by him. Once I get 100% sit to whistle then I am going to introduce a down.

Eventually I will get him to sit or down when other dogs walk past and keep his focus on me.

Once I am happy he is in control and comfortable with the dogs walking past him then I will start letting him get a little closer.

Its going to be a long slow process, but he's doing really well up to now and I'm sure over the next few months I can get him back to his happy loopy springer state again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.