In The Shade

A place for L and I to have our tea before heading into the Filmhouse for our first film of the evening - Pig Film (with a preceding short about using film in cinema). Both interesting in different ways. The director of Pig Film didn't want to say too much about what it meant so you were left to work it out for yourself. For me it was a rather bleak, post-apocalyptic world without humans, but was it? Then we went to see Song Bird. Fair to say L liked it more than me. Was I expecting too much? It seemed another wafer-thin story/premise like Dirt Road. Perhaps for me the fact this indy film-maker had persuaded a hugely successful Canadian film and US TV sitcom actor to be involved in his project was the most impressive thing about it? The meta joke where the main character asked her onscreen father to explain how her parents met, the best joke. Or maybe it was just me, as L liked it a lot more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.