Preparing for winter

Today, in an attempt to reinvigorate myself, I agreed to go swimming with a friend, followed by an aqua zumba class! Think underwater salsa/Latin type dancing combined with an aerobic exercise class . . . !

I didn't realise I was actually agreeing to go on a weekly basis until Christmas, but now that I've been to one, I am really looking forward to the next few weeks! It was great fun, terrific music, not too many folk, very energetic and it felt like a real work out. The fact that you are chest high in the water means that no one can see if you aren't quite in time with the instructor or the music, and it also means that every move is that much more strenuous than if done on dry land!

Afterwards we rewarded ourselves with tea and cakes. I compromised by having a peppermint tea instead of a cappuccino - I didn't want to undo all my hard work!

Heading home I followed these cows and calves for about half an hour. At this time of the year all over the county animals are going inside for the winter. The fields are completely waterlogged, mud everywhere, and there is no longer any nutrition left in the grass. They'll be inside now until May. Preferable to being out in all the winter weather but still, it's not much of a life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.