To Arezzo antique market

We got up early to beat the worst of the heat and drove down to Arezzo - about 45 minutes. The first Sunday of each month is a big antiques market spread through the medieval town's narrow streets.

It's good fun once you realise most marked prices can be haggled down considerably. It has become a bit of a tourist thing but strolling around in the deep shade with few people around was pretty good. The squares were already pretty roasting - see extra. And the skiy full of swifts circling about before moving out to their hunting grounds.

The B got herself some hats and two lovely terracotta firedogs. I saw a boxful of old clay modelling tools made of steel that took my fancy.

By the time we were back at the house at noon it was already 31C but it was still cool inside.

On the way back I took a sideroad to find some shade to eat some frittata I'd bought at a cafe. We passed a field where the new mown long-stalked wheat (durum wheat?) had been harvested into sheaves - presumably to keep the straw for thatch or some other artisanal use (see other extra).

I've been using my rather poor iPhone 5S camera for taking blips for the last month (and today) - as I can carry it in my pocket when working and because I can link direct to the Blipfoto site without my computer. I'm now attempting to switch back to the trusty proper camera and a fully functioning keyboard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.