Oasis of calm

There was once an excellent comedy called Black Books and in one episode, Bill Bailey was having to consult his Little Book of Calm. We all have one, be it a book, a poem a tune , a person or a place. For me it's Barnalusgan loch. It  take only about 25 minutes to walk round but it always salves my soul. This time last year I couldn't walk round it without stopping at least 4or 5 times due to a tightening in my chest! and today my eldest daughter celebrates her first wedding anniversary and I remember on her wedding day  not being able to walk round the grounds of lovely Balanakil House  due to damn  chest pains etc. After  much cajoling from my fellow blipper/ friends I went to a doctor and now several pills , a stent and much exercise later, I feel totally fine and my BP has dropped hugely and today is a respectable 137/82 while this time last year it was 185/129 and higher sometimes! The machine the TV programme gave me  which we were playing around with also helped to detect high BP in a fellow blipper and she too is now firing on all cylinders , so something good came out of that. The programme by the way I think is actually on sometime this month, no idea what its called or what channel .  We arrived home from Uist at 2am this morning and I was still doing a washing at 4 am  to get ready to hoof up to Skye today, as though it's been four years since I left my old job, they have asked me to do a two week stint on Skye to help them out! I may go either stir crazy of be scoffed by Skye's canibal midges.! Anyway I had better shift as it's a long drive to Skye and the roads will probably be mobbed with yogurt pot camper vans etc. See  you on the other side then! Extra a lady prepared for the great Scottish midgie but not a midgie in sight. Ha ha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.