Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Bauhn

Sometimes that centre aisle at Aldi comes up with genuine winners.  These are active noise cancelling headphones. They fold up very compactly, come with their own padded carry case, possess a genuine feel of quality and utilise a rechargeable battery. Because I spend so much time travelling in trains, I had long wanted something like this but for the most part was faced with a ludicrous price for a device from Bose. These ones above are so cheap that mere mortals can afford them.

How well do they work? I don't fully know yet but I put the cans on, sat in my relatively quiet study and switched on the circuitry. All of a sudden the wind outside, the blower in the gas heater, the fan in my desktop tower - none of which I'd noticed until that point - simply disappeared. Then I switched the NC circuitry off. The ambient noises suddenly seemed almost deafening. Promising. I know that they won't eradicate transient sounds such as nearby speech but the unrelenting ambient noise on future two hour rail journeys to Sydney should fade to more manageable levels. Time will tell.

Want to see just how much that terrible white background destroys the detail in our postings? Just take a quick look at this pic in LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.