Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Tennis

No baking sunshine today, which was a bit of a relief, so we wandered across the Links for a light lunch in our favourite pub, Montpelier's. A shared platter was enjoyed, and Archie was very good, just stared at the food the toddler on a baby chair was dropping on the floor, just out of his reach.

On the way back we found this old, much gnarled hoopla hoop. It didn’t fly very well because of the kinks, but he did love a tug-of-war. I think I've seen YouTube videos of cats who like to go and sit in circles drawn on the ground. Or did I dream that?

Back home to watch some tennis. Great match between Wawrinka and Dimitrov. And I do wish John McEnroe, who is paid a fortune (presumably) to commentate on matches, would get the names correct. On more than one occasion he called them WawrinkO and DimitrIov And he always says JOKE-ovitch. Maybe I should turn the sound off...

Happened to switch over to the football to see a famous player dying on the pitch. Goodness me, what can have happened? Oh no! Someone's bumped into him... what a performance! But the replay showed the other player had deliberately stood on his ankle while picking up the ball. NOT very sporting. Must have been a bit sore, actually. But as far as I know, the bad sport didn’t even get booked! But I am enjoying the upsets - big teams going out. And Russia still in!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.