Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Plan B!

While at the pool yesterday, I watched a wee boy getting a private swimming lesson. Someone had said before that this might be the best thing for me, and I had actually asked last year and all the lessons were booked up with long waiting lists and I had given up. I enquired at the desk, put my name on a bit of paper, and lo and behold, I was just home when someone phoned and I've got a lesson this Monday. EEEEK! I didn't have time to re-consider, or to cancel.

Today my plan was to go down to the camera shop where I bought my ND lens and see if he could tell me where I'm going wrong. I haven't been able to get a decent long exposure, despite following the YouTube instructions to the T. The Camera shop man looked blankly at me and declared he wasn't an expert and gave me a brochure for the Ed. Camera Club. Thanks... But I have another plan.

Today's plan from there was to get the bus into town, see if I could spot an All Black (haven't even seen them in the papers out and about around town - they must be worried about the game, hehe) and then go to the afternoon movie - The Sapphires.

But sometimes, my feet just take me another way. I was waiting for the bus, quite happily following Plan A, when I suddenly started walking down towards M&S, lured by the Meal Deal. (My Aussie pals who used to live here really miss these now they are back in Oz).

Yes! Plan B. Pick up a Meal Deal, walk home round by the Duck Pond. No afternoon movies after all. And the All Blacks were probably all over town today, I'll see in the news this evening...

As I was waiting for the bus, still on Plan A, a car drew up with LOUD rock music blasting out of the open windows. I looked over to scowl at the young hoon disturbing everyone's peace, and noted that it was a middle aged woman in the car, on her own! I think I'd like her.

When I got to the Duck Pond, it was all quiet. Nobody was there throwing bread, and there didn't seem to be much doing. The two swans were away at the other end of the pond. As I stood and surveyed the scene, deciding whether to bother to walk round it or not, I heard the slapping and flapping before I realised what was happening. The two swans were taking off and coming my way!! I was so excited I could hardly get my camera ready fast enough, but just caught them as they landed. I note that one of them is wearing a leaf brooch. They seem to like doing this, I've seen it before on Chamaeleo's journal.

Two more sleeps till the rugby!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.