Ancient and Modern

This weekend has been the Three Shires Festival at St Hilda's Church, Warley Woods.  The old shires of Warwickshire, Worcestershire and Staffordshire met not far from the church, hence the name of the Festival, and of course, there is a link to the Three Choirs Festival held not too far away...

Last night there was a Jazz evening which I was sorry to miss, but I did get to the Organ recital and choir performances today.  The church has a good organ and has a tradition of excellence in choral and organ music.  There are some very talented organists in Birmingham and we had one visiting today who entertained and educated us magnificently.  The organ is in the gallery at the back of the church so the chairs were turned around to face the rear of the building and our techie expert had set up two cameras so that we could see what was happening on the two manuals, the pedals and the organist's face.  It really was very good.  I had some organ lessons when I was young so I really appreciated being able to see what he was doing with his feet and the number of times he changed the stops.  He also introduced us to some beautifully diverse music using the full range of the organ.  A really good part of the day.

The rest of the day has been a bit more problematic with issues with TYM and Mom and Dad.  I am so fortunate to have SHH to lean on when times get difficult.  He really is my steady rock and source of peace when I feel like everything is falling apart around me and I am being stretched to my absolute limits.  So, the world goes on and we go on with it, picking up the pieces as we go.

Football to look forward to on Wednesday!  Yay!  I do find those last ten minutes of a game so tense!  I am also excited by the fact that Wimbledon is on, AND now my favourite, the Tour de France.  Add the Grand Prix tomorrow and the ironing and new and old friends enhancing our lives and I realise that life is good...

Thank you Blippers for all your contributions to to the colourful rainbow of life...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.