Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Fog in Heathcote Valley

When I got up this morning to make coffee, the valley was full of fog. I fetched the camera and took 3 shots from outside our living room. Unlike last week, the fog didn't last long in the valley today, so although I took a camera on our morning walk up the hill, I didn't use it again.

We collected my 91-year-old mother at 10.00 am and drove to New Brighton for a coffee. Then we walked out to the end of the pier. The weekend fishermen were hauling up baskets of crabs, but of course I didn't have the camera with me this time! My mother was pleased that she walked all the way to the end of the pier because last time we took her it was cold and windy, so we went only a little way along.

This afternoon was spent in the garden. There's lots of general tidying up to do this time of year. We have nearly 2 acres with a large area of proteas, which we pruned last week. We munch the protea clippings separately from the rest of the vegetation and put the mulch back under them, as they don't like any other kind of mulch or fertiliser. They thrive in our garden because we get plenty of wind but almost no frost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.