Life on the Good Intent

By ClydeBorn

They call me Mr Finn.

Was at home a little later this morning to go and pick up my car. Finn came out as I filled up the bird feeder.
Contemplative as I drove to work, I thought of Finn and how he is now sixteen months old. He tries to exert his influence on the household, establishing his position in the feline order.

The phrase from the classic film - 'In the Heat of the Night' came to mind.
By no means belittling the civil rights struggle personified by the treatment of Detective Virgil Tibbs in the hard hitting film, it made me think of the how many people in the world are not treated with basic human respect. Whether because of skin colour, beliefs or gender, they have to strive constantly to overcome these prejudices. The courage exemplified by fifteen year old Malala Yousafzai in challenging the lack of education for girls is an inspiration to us all, it makes me remember that transition between child and adulthood. The desperate need in us to be treated as a grown up but forgiven for still being a child, the chance to help decide the future of our nation will be handed to our youth, I hope like Malala, they rise to the challenge.

Ps Both of Finn's eyes are the same colour, just shadow on his face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.