Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Party popper, party pooper..

To the Unity Theatre tonight to see Amy Lamé performing her piece, Unhappy Birthday.

The performance takes the form of a party with all audience members decked out in party hats and eating cheese balls whilst playing a game of pass the parcel. Meanwhile, Amy describes her obsession with Morrissey to a soundtrack of Moz's work - both with The Smiths and as a solo artiste. Here, you see her applying copious amounts of hairspray in an attempt to create a Morrissey-style quiff - as Hairdresser on Fire plays...

There was a fair amount of tension in the room as everyone attempted to avoid being left holding the parcel when the music stopped - understandably so, since everyone who 'won a prize' as each layer was removed from the parcel was also required to play a part of some sort in the performance.

Imagine my horror then when the parcel ended up in my hands as the music stopped for the penultimate time of the evening. What would I find inside...?

Turns out it was a party popper. The very party popper which Amy had just accused someone in the audience of stealing. Uh-oh... I was in trouble! I came in for a right lambasting for my alleged thievery (although Amy did complement me on my t-shirt!) but was required to do nothing more onerous than pop the popper at a moment directed by Amy. Luckily, I was able to rise to the challenge without further incident! Phew!

Apologies for my lack of comments over the past couple of days. Life has got rather full-on over the last fortnight and it's caught up with me a bit... What little free time I've had has been spent well away from any form of computer! I'm sending love to you all though! X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.