Sycamore

My stakeout didn't go according to plan. There was a party at the local community centre which went on till the early hours, and both the badger and the hedgehog didn't arrive till 3 am according to the trail cam, by which time I was fast off. Still, the moth trap yielded some new species, one of which was this beautifully marked Sycamore. It's been an unprecedented day for butterflies in the garden - not huge numbers of any one species apart from small whites, but the number of species was more that I can ever remember getting in one day. the list also includes:  Large White, Holly Blue, Meadow Brown, Gatekeeper, Small Skipper, Peacock, Small Tortoiseshell, Comma, and Ringlet. 
I won't be repeating my stakeout tonight as I have to be up very early for this month's Wetlands Bird Count.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.