The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On Frampton Lake

... actually, under the weeping willow tree beside the lake. Once the sun came out, I couldn't stay on the pier, because there was no shade.

The grass of the Frampton Court estate has been cut, for a polo match or similar. As a consequence, instead of grass, there is a dusty veldt, littered with dried out goose droppings and feathers. The swans and geese were swimming around the lake in flotilla formation or, as Steve put it, in a pelotón. The stillness was absolute. A man in a boat, close to the central island, wast putting out food for the lake's carp. No fishermen were about.

I see from my bliplog that I last visited the lake on May 2Oth. I wore the same shorts today, but had to stay out of the heat.

Steve disappeared to catch the birdlife, while I lay and read. Later we went to the pub by the river Severn, and later still Steve dropped me off at the museum in Stroud. so I could view and exhibition of papercuts, and another of lino cuts. Both were excellent. I had an ice cream in the park while the Malmesbury concert band played on the bandstand, the walked back to the house sit via Uplands, so that I could see all the housing developments of the past 20 years from the other side of the valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.