madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Seeing Red

France Dweller has started her cleaning duties already - after breakfast I realised she had gone from washing up her cup to cleaning the surfaces! Now that's over and above the job spec! Cleaning surfaces means lifting ornament after ornament and is a daunting task! I told her I'd only meant floor cleaning and that her duties only started when she became my lodger not as my summer guest! She said there was so much to do she was making an early start - I said was my house that dirty!!! Had to make her a coffee to make her stop as she was becoming a woman possessed!
She headed off to the beach with friends and I headed to the hairdressers - I now have the summer white line round the nape of my neck! I noticed this newly painted house front on my way out the village - it used to be the Post Office - like the fact the door is red - looks as if the phone box and post box has had a new lick of paint too!
Once home I continued stage 2 of the Bramble Jelly making! I had left the simmered fruit draining through a jelly bag overnight. What a fabulous colour! I then made a courgette cake! Colourful Mai called by on her way to Port Eliot  to give me some shortbread from Scotland as a present for me doing her hen duties! The cake was ready and I'd made a loaf and heart shaped small cakes - so I packed 2 up and gave her a little plastic pot of Bramble Jelly to go with them! She is on the admissions gate so I shall catch up with her on Saturday - for  two 5 hour duties she gets free entry to the festival for the whole weekend! Just as she was leaving France dweller arrived to collect her phone which she'd left in the morning. She was doing  Compassionate Girls evening walk - I was tempted but thought best to save my energy for Port Eliot - I don't want to jinx my run of good days by overdoing it! So packed up a cake for her to and waved her off saying "play nicely with the other girls!"
By the late eve I was feeling very tired so left the outside light on for France Dweller and went to bed! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.