Friday Friends and Flowers

By mid afternoon I was at B&Q and garden centre, the latter cashing in on the heatwave it seems, promoting plants that thrive in an arid climate.  It certainly was another hot and airless night, and I was already awake after 6am when I heard a strange noise - then realised it was rain!!  Not much more than a sprinkling, and not for long - but definitely rain. However, long before I left home late morning it was hot and sunny again, and as I drove home from the garden centre mid afternoon my car registered 35.5ºC.  The day rounded off with an early evening bout of thunder, lightening and fairly heavy rain and we are blessed with a cool breeze tonight.  So much weather in one day!

Main event of the day however, was meeting Lou and Ewa for lunch.  It's several years since we last saw each other, and twelve? more? since we all worked together in Istanbul.  Meeting them off a late morning London train, I showed them some of the highlights of Chelmsford by strolling through the baking hot busy High St, before taking them to the Fox and Raven for a leisurely lunch and life catch up stories for a few hours - life in Poland, Istanbul, and of course tripping down memory lane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.