Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Saltoun Parish Church

Today's excitement was waiting for a delivery in the morning.

The afternoon was an East Lothian Extravagate. It was a windy afternoon, but I perhaps chose the right route today. I head east along the B701 ,then down Gilmerton Road to Eskbank, through Dalkeith and on to the B6414 and A6124. I prefer roads with names, but the Fordel Mains Road is shut, so I have a short section on the A68, before taking the A6093, the road to Pencaitland. It has been resurfaced, so I go quite fast as its also down hill.

I turn right on the B6371 and left where the sign says West Saltoun. A nice wee road, and mostly down hill to West Saltoun. Lovely countryside.  Unfortunately,to get to East Saltoun, there is a short climb. I stop at East Saltoun to get a shot of the wee Saltoun Parish Church. Then get back on the bike, cycle to Gifford, and head toward the coast to Haddington, over the Garlton Hills, down to Aberlady, then along the coast road. Still not really affected by the wind. There's quite a few cyclists heading in the opposite direction.

There's not a lot of traffic, and I get lucky with the traffic lights at Prestonpans. It doesn't take long before I'm in Musselburgh. When I get to Fisherrow, its coffee time. The café is shut and I can't see the snack caravan. I take a shot of the harbour (Extra 1). I move a little as there are some foreign language students hovering around the harbour as well, then I spot the snack caravan. So I head over, get a coffee and a bite to eat. Nice view from the seat. (Extra 2).

After the wee break, I head home along Edinburgh Road and Milton Road East and hop on to the cycle path. Back on Edinburgh roads, nice and bumpy. I'm home quite quickly.

The whole route can be seen at Relive here.

In the evening I meet eldest son for tea and a chat to see how he is doing. There is quite some time until the next bus home. I get a different bus, and have a nice walk home in some lovely evening sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.