madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Quiet Flat Sunday!

I slept well for the first time in a long time! Woke at 8.30! Bliss!Didn't do much as it rained all day and I was feeling tired despite my sleep! Finally got myself together to put the hens to bed and see what the rain and wind had done to my allotment. I expected the Gladioli to be down - and they were! But many were fine once staked - the rest came home with me! What I hadn't thought about was the impact on my poppies, verbena, Hollyhocks, sweetcorn  and tomatoes! All flattened, as was the rest of the plot apart from the brassicas in their cages! I staked the sweetcorn and poppies but with more rain expected left the tomatoes, they were so heavy with the tomatoes and the rain I feared moving them would break them anyway - best left till they dry off! Will be interesting to see  if and how fully the plants perk up once the sun comes back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.