trekmum

By trekmum

Inez

Martin and I attended my Aunt Inez’s funeral today. She was 98 years old and died just a few weeks short of her 99th birthday. She was the last of all of my aunts and one of the nicest ladies you could meet. I remember as a child visiting her and my Uncle Will after church on Sundays. She was a farmer’s wife and always seemed to be busy baking in the kitchen or helping with the chickens. She was always smiling.
I saw her less as I grew up, but I started visiting her again in recent years. Although she was declining physically with age, she was as bright as a button with a fantastic memory.
Today gave me the chance to reminisce with my cousin Chrissie.It is very sad that it often takes occasions such as this to reconnect with family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.