Rustington Convalescent Home

Not my usual style - I'm never entirely sure if I get the whole black and white thing right or not. This building sits along the seafront in Rustington. I was passing by with my camera (as I so often do), but thought I'd stop and blip it today.

Rustington was purpose-built as a convalescent home in 1897 by Sir Henry Harben, President of the Prudential Assurance Company, and a previous Master of the Carpenter's Company, an ancient guild of the City of London. Sir Henry spent over £50,000 buying the nine acre site and building the Home, which was designed by the architect Frederick Wheeler, F.R.I.B.A.

The Home was designed as a place where working men could convalesce after an illness or accident and enable them to become fully active again. It was officially opened on 20 March 1897 in a ceremony led by the Bishop of Chichester, and admitted its first guests just four days later.

Now, over 100 years later, Rustington welcomes both men and women of all ages and from every walk of life.


It's another grey day here (hence the b/w), but so far no rain. Just as well, as I'm off to watch Elliot play a match after school. Happy Tuesday everyone :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.