Vignettes from Cork

It was another very wet and grey day in West Cork but somehow it didn't seem to matter. As I usually feel compelled to fill every minute of every day with some kind of physical or intellectual activity it was probably good for me to chill and just hang out not doing very much at all. We drove to Cork this afternoon and spent a little bit of time there before heading out to the airport. While TJ met up with her eldest daughter to do some shopping I had a wander around the city in the rain.

In rapidly fading light and drizzle the conditions were truly terrible for photography but I have to admit that I rather enjoy the challenge of finding a blip in difficult circumstances. I spotted this shot just before meeting back up with the girls. This is an office building in true Irish style! It was hard to see much with the naked eye but the camera has captured a pair of scenes, two vignettes, one completely disassociated from the other except for their proximity in space. I feel a strange sense of power in being able to connect them together in this voyeuristic way. It's very hard not to wonder what is going on beyond those windows.

Writing this up on the last train to Ilkley from Leeds, the plane from Cork to Manchester getting in on schedule and enabling me to make my connections in good time. It was rather refreshing not to have to deal with passport control. I don't remember avoiding that before. Is it because we have a special relationship with Ireland?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.