SilverImages

By SilverImages

Skirrid

"For me, a holiday is about taking a book and going to a mountain and reading." Sonam Kapoor

The hills beckon again, K2 fancies a stroll this morning, somewhere "hilly" to get in practice for Ben Nevis later in the month. Sounds a bit strenuous to me, but I think I can manage a stroll up Skirrid. Fortunately we arrive at the National Trust car park by 10a.m., before it gets too hot.  Even so, by the time we're half way up the initial steep pathway my tee shirt is dripping and I can either talk or pant for breath, but not both. It gets easier as we emerge from the trees onto the open hillside, and I recover something of a rhythm. Views are spectacular with the rolling Monmouthshire countryside spread out in all directions, glorious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.