CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Tranquility

An overcast day with some sunny spells

I attended the funeral of Emily, from our church, who was 101 when she died. She had been a member of our church for 40 years and, despite recently being very frail, she attended faithfully until four weeks ago. She was an example to us all, especially in the way she prayed every day for many people.

While waiting for the service at the Crematorium to begin, I had time to sit in this lovely memorial garden. It was so tranquil and gave me time to reflect on my own life and to realise I now thought of myself having a longer life expectancy than I did a year ago. This is mainly due to how much fitter I feel after losing weight and all the walking and exercising I have done. Having said that, I am fully ready for the life to come, should I die tomorrow.

It has been well said, ‘only when you face the reality of your own mortality can you live to the full today’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.