Smells

Because we live in the country, we do not have mains sewage.  While others might imagine what happens after flushing the toilet, I don't have to.  I know exactly what happens.  It all finds its way to a tank in the bottom half of the property.
From time to time, the tank needs emptying.  There are various views on frequency but today was the day.  A man with big tanker and some seriously impressive hoses arrived.  Given that this is a job few of us would sign up for, I felt the need to be friendly and we had a wide ranging conversation.
He told me that he longed to live in the country as he didn't get on with his neighbours.  I refrained from suggesting his day job and the various perfumes he collected on his travels might have something to do with it.
We left on good terms - he was off for some lunch and I asked him whether his job had impacted on his diet.  With a happy smile, he told me he no longer ate sweetcorn or mushrooms.  One because of the output and the other because of the input.
He waved cheerily and said he looked forward to seeing me in about four years time.  I turned to look for something sweet to smell.  The sweet peas came in handy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.