Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Dead Tree at Twilight

Being Blipless until late evening often means a late evening walk with the dogs down the valley on the hunt for an interesting subject.

This dead tree has been silvering away for years now on the banks of the Kaituna River, and I've shot it several times during the day, but have never really felt the light was right.

Tonight I was in next to no light, so the Nikkor 35mm f1.8 was called on to try and capture something halfway decent with a view to it being a mono shot.

Only when I had it in Aperture and converted to mono with a vignette did I realise the multifaceted nature of the image; it's no wonder I've been drawn to this tree. I've interpreted this photo as a schematic of a brain, a pair of lungs, a tree skeleton (where the lower branches are the roots) and a mushroom.

I think I need to stop mixing tramadol and sav blanc....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.