CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

(Funerary) Vessels
It would have been mum’s 89th birthday today.
I have a difficult relationship with this vase. Bit of a love/hate thing. I love it as a beautiful object in itself but my sister bought it as something for my mum to give me after P died. I think she had taken mum into the little pottery close to where they lived and got her to choose between a couple of different things. I’m not sure how much mum understood P’s death. So, for me it also represents both a mark of his death, of my mother’s incapacity and also the complexity of expression of emotion within the family which I am not sure I will ever fathom. I have always thought of it as my fault but have come to realise that it will be more complicated than that.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.