River Aire

This is where the Aire meets the canal after Castleford. The River isn't navigable through Cas. because of the weir so the canal does a detour. Just before Castleford the Aire meets the Calder and that becomes the Aire and Calder Canal, but the river goes through Castleford and meets it again just about where the tall tree is on the right.

We walk round here with the dogs sometimes. there is a nice riverside path that leads to RSPB Fairburn Ings  that is behind me on thisd photo, or you can walk along the canal bank back to Castleford if you so wish.

In the background is Hicksons Chemical works that we hate. I worry that one day something will go wrong, and it will emit some noxious gasses. It has been known in the past for a sudden alert and people in the area have been told to keep the windows shut and not go out unless it's necessary.

Had lots of long walks today with the dogs,  then my granddaughter and great granddaughter came this afternoon and we had a good old natter over a cuppa. She had just spent a couple of pound short of £100 on Caitlins school uniform as she goes to Garforth Acadamy in September and there was no cutting corners all the uniforms have to have the school logo  and not just a badge you can sew on yourself.

Little rant.........The are still cutting up concrete next door and I am fed up of the dust in the air all the time and the noise, the weather is cooler but I still can't get out into the garden for the clouds of dust, plus it's all over my plants not to mention windows and sills. I am not sure what they are doing but they seem to be digging a channel and a large hole at one end. I think they now have a water leak, maybe they hit a water pipe. I am ready to scream I really am.......end of rant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.