spitzimixi

By spitzimixi

TFFO

It's usually TGIF but this one is more about Friday being over, because it was a pants day.
There's loads I could tell you about but let me tell you just one thing: Last week my car passed it's test and is considered road-worthy for the next two years. Yes, I was amazed too. Obviously, the fact that it looks like someone has been licking the interior to death doesn't matter. (It was the dog) ANYWAY, just a couple of things needed to be mended - a light, the tow-hitch and a seal in the engine (bit of rubber, not a pinniped). My mechanic (I own one) said that he didn't think it was leaking, but, if they said it had to be mended, why not....
So, yesterday the work got done and I said "see you in two years" and we agreed that the old girl has life in her yet and blah blah.
Today, I drove around a bit, finally ending up outside a post-office in Germany when large amounts of smoke billowed out of the engine, making me very nervous indeed. After trying and failing to phone home in a wild attempt to get Mr. Spitzi - who knows nothing about engines - to mend it for me over the phone, I finally decided to head for the border and phone the mechanic once safely in Swishland. So, that's what I did. He gave me over the phone instructions that I attempted to follow (I'm sure I used to know more about engines but today I just looked at the thing and my mind said "blibble" which wasn't very helpful). He convinced me that it was safe to drive the half-hour to the garage and I pulled up there a very tense person indeed with a car that belched smoke and stank.
Turns out that, in mending the thing that didn't really need mending, they managed to break something that now needs mending. A simple job really but not one that anyone who is about to finish work on Friday evening and is looking forward to a nice beer or two is going to want to bother with. So, I have a blue car rather than a black car this weekend and my old girl will be picked up again on Monday.
I lugged my camera around all day but ended up blipping the first photo I took - a choice of one. The day I had left no leisure moments for photography as I was busy lurching from one pain in the arse disaster to the next......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.