fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Shades of Gray Seattle Style

A complete turn around weather wise from yesterday's gorgeous blue and sunny skies...much more typical of our approaching winter days! Today was a busy as I thought it would be. After the pool workout, had a lovely breakfast with a trio of people I had worked with. Lots of shared stories and laughs.

Then into Seattle to visit my friend who had been in a terrible car accident a few weeks ago. She is undergoing an extensive rehab program now and the goal is to get back as much use of her limbs and body as possible. She can't hold a book so I read her a poem from Mary Oliver's new poetry book A Thousand Mornings. She smiled (I'm not the best a loud reader either ha ha). A good visit, but sad in many ways too.

Then to my own orthopedic check back on my replaced new kick ass knee. It's where it should be at for now...and the doc wants to get the other bad one scheduled to be replaced around Feb. I 'm not real excited about that, but I may go ahead and get it over with. I do feel I made some definite positive improvements that were noticeable this past week or so. After visiting my friend and seeing the rehab she is doing and is facing , my own pales in comparison! Good reality check!

Finally home and some "face time" with my precious son "Gander"-Martin and then feet up and a bit of snooze time. Ah and the precious weekend for all the workers and even us retirees who lose a sense of time:)

This view of the Seattle Smith tower and waterfront is taken from an overlook at Harborview medical center parking lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.