Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Barometer

This was my grandad’s barometer. It came to my mum when he field and a couple of years ago it came to me. It had been a wedding present from his father an ironmonger from Barnsley which is on the back of the barometer.

Anyway it was in need of repair, the thermometer was no longer there and the front glass broken. November 16 I took it to a repair place who said they could send it off for the glass to be repaired and hopefully locate a replacement thermometer.

Over a year ago I contacted them and the glass had been mended but still searching for the thermometer. They would contact me. They didn’t. And two days ago my son and I went to this place and I asked them what had happened. They appeared to have lost the barometer and looked blankly at me. I thought it was gone. Then he searched in a cupboard and it was there. Still with no thermometer and given they did not know where it was I doubt they had tried to repair that element. Apologetically they gave it me back with no charge for the glass repair which was £50 so I guess they felt guilty.

So this is my Grandad’s barometer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.