craigifood

By craigifood

Pickled pork knuckle or eisbein

Made my own version of Eisbein in my portugese ceramic chicken baker. Baked the knuckle for an hour in the baker then removed the juices into a small pot and put the knuckle back to bake some more. In the juices I sauted a large onion sliced thin then added 2 table spoons sugar and about 200ml balsamic vinegar, freshly ground pepper and cooked at high till thickened. I poured half the onions and juice over the eisbein and baked for half hour, then turned the eisbein and added the other half of the onion and finished baking for half an hour. The skin was nicely caramelised but next time I am going to put it under the grill to make the skin crackling. Served with chips and mixed veg. Wine was a Spanish Garnacha Syrah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.