Y4

And like that, her 5th year of school begins. I find it quite hard to believe we’ve got this far into primary school. We’ve now lived in this home longer than any other, this town longer than any other. I guess I didn’t necessarily envisage us sticking around for the whole of her primary school career and yet somehow, here we are. Edging towards the end of her time.

The morning was eventful. She was up from 2am after a bad dream. She did eventually drop off but I took much longer. I fell asleep about 15 minutes before the alarm and accidentally turned it off instead of snoozed it. So we got up an hour later than intended - but thankfully, the alarm was set for our new, earlier, start to the day. Consequently, we managed shower, hair, cooked breakfast, photos and even both instruments - all be it trimmed to a little over half an hour each. But we left on time, she was happy and all went well! She said “I’m a little bit nervous for y4 but I’m more excited.... so....” Yes? “So I am going to choose the path of excited”. This is a concept that she and B talk about for feelings, particularly relating to performance emotions. Acknowledging both paths exist but choosing which one she will follow. And today she definitely chose excited!

Dance class tonight. Two weeks of that being her only Wednesday activity before she starts her new orchestra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.