Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Apple

sponge recipe (the jean method)

Butter an 18 inch x 12 inch oven proof dish

Slice apples thinly and throw into dish - to about 1.5 inches deep.

Drizzle with organic (Wexford) honey. Put into pre heated oven (180 degrees) to soften them

In the meantime, lash the following ingredients into a mixing bowl all at once. On no account do you cream the butter or sugar first, or add eggs slowly or fold in the flour.

8 ozs butter (Irish preferably) :-)
8 ozs caster sugar
8 ozs self raising flour
Teaspoon good quality vanilla extract (not essence)
3 large eggs
Small mug of milk

and my secret ingredient....

3 soup spoons of ground almonds


Mix the ingredients to a good consistency - not too dry and not too runny and pour over the apples taking care to cover the apple slices.

Then sprinkle with flaked almonds and lash it back into the oven

When it comes to cooking/baking I can be hit or miss. So my secret is to stick to easy things.

My blip today is of the apples I am going to use this evening when I don my apron, roll up my sleeves and get baking

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.