Barry

I am not a Barry fan and I’m still not. A good friend is a big fan; she even has a signed t-shirt.

For her birthday, her husband bought her 2 tickets for a Barry Manilow concert in the O2 arena. No one in their family wanted to go with her so her husband asked me to go and I went.

I was super surprised by the number of teenagers and young couples there, sitting alongside all the oldies. I was super surprised by the energy of the dancing audience. I was super surprised by his very plastic face - almost a fixed face - but I was not super surprised by him.

He has a great voice, incredible for a 75 year old. But at one point, he asked what other 75 year olds we knew were doing - he suggested that the most most 75 year olds could manage was to cough up phlegm, but here he was, fit and dancing around for us .... :-(

He also had a melt down, in front of the thousands, with unpleasant expletives pouring out of his mouth. :-(

In the photo, he was singing a duet with a younger Barry Manilow. At one point, we all had to sing “We love you Barry Manilow”.

Most importantly, my fiend loved it and I loved watching her love it. :-)

I preferred though, the other end of the day, the beginning, watching NoaNoa play football with his Godmother (who was also watching, not playing) although our team were utterly thrashed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.